Constantinople

From Friday, September 27, 2019 at 08:00 pm to Saturday, November 2, 2019 at 08:00 pm

Event Details

WHEN
From Friday, September 27, 2019 at 08:00 pm to Saturday, November 2, 2019 at 08:00 pm
WHERE
Secret Rose Theatre at 11246 West Magnolia Boulevard
Los Angeles, California, United States, 91601
COST
$20-$40
Buy Tickets
Description

Constantinople

 

"Constantinople" is the latest world premiere by Vista Players, a "boundlessly talented" ensemble which "set the standard by which others were judged." This fast-paced, 90-minute play by Elly Award-winning playwright Aram Kouyoumdjian unfolds during the aftermath of World War I and focuses on the city's Armenian minority in the post-Genocide era, at a time of political intrigue, military struggle, and a growing feminist movement.

This is the setting in which Vehanoush, the editor of a feminist journal, and Roupen, a guerrilla fighter, coordinate missions for the recovery of women and children abducted during the Genocide, as well as border crossings into Armenia to transport supplies and weaponry. Their idealism is tested, however, when the political situation around them takes a darker turn, Roupen's missions become endangered, and Vehanoush's core beliefs are challenged both by those who fund her clandestine activities and the "new girls" of the era who find her principles compromised.

Vista Players veterans Jade Hykush and Robert Walters are joined by Travis Laughlin, Eva Abramian, Jonathan Fishman, Kristin Mothersbaugh, and Luc Rosenthal in the powerhouse cast. "Constantinople" also features the creative talents of Alan Tollefson (Scenic Design), Henrik Mansourian (Lighting Design), and Allison Dillard (Costume Design), fresh off an Ovation Award win. Ara Dabandjian is the production's original music composer.

Below is the complete schedule of the play with its corresponding dates and time.

 

Friday, September 27 -- 8:00 pm

Saturday, September 28 -- 8:00 pm

Sunday, September 29 -- 3:00 pm

 

Friday, October 4 -- 8:00 pm

Saturday, October 5 -- 8:00 pm

Sunday, October 6 -- 3:00 pm

 

Friday, October 11 -- 8:00 pm

Saturday, October 12 -- 8:00 pm

Sunday, October 13 -- 3:00 pm

 

Friday, October 18 -- 8:00 pm

Saturday, October 19 -- 8:00 pm

Sunday, October 20 -- 3:00 pm

 

Friday, October 25 -- 8:00 pm

Saturday, October 26 -- 8:00 pm

Sunday, October 27 -- 3:00 pm

 

Friday, November 1 -- 8:00 pm

Saturday, November 2 -- 8:00 pm

Cost and Tickets

Cost & Tickets

$20-$40
Buy Tickets
Organizer
Organizer info not provided for this event.
Venue

Secret Rose Theatre

11246 West Magnolia Boulevard
Los Angeles, California, United States
Click here to see other events at this venue
×

Add this event to your calendar

This option adds this event as an imported feed. The feed is synchronized hourly and counts as 1 additional feed against your Synced Import limit.
This option adds a copy of this event to one of the above, without synchronizing future updates and it doesn’t count against your Synced Import limit.

Copyright © 2004 - Present. All Rights Reserved. | ArmenCal Facebook | ArmenCal Twitter | ArmenCal Youtube |